A Days Work


When we think of a days work, many of us imagine sitting at a  desk in nine to five job or possibly working part-time at a less than comfortable wage. But how many of us think of waking up at 3am or 4am to do a days worth of physical work. Labor… something that actually took physical strength and skill. I don’t know about you, but I know that I haven’t seen the inside of a gym in over a year. As I educate myself on worldwide cultures, I have gained a greater respect for the way of life that I have. Some of the boys in the picture do not look a day over twelves years old. Think back on the things you did at twelve. Myself…I did not even have to consider working to provide for my family.

These were our beginnings. Don’t sit there and think that we have evolved. Instead think about what we have forgotten. Think about our surplus. Despite this financial crisis think about how much we actually have. The luxury of not having to labor. The conveniences that are available to us. The beauty in simplicity. These things we no longer appreciate. I think of the feeling of accomplishment that these young men must feel after a big catch and I wonder how many times in my life will I be able to have that same feeling.

Leave a Reply

